top of page
Prof. Mohan Edirisinghe

Contact details:

Tel: +44 (0) 207 6793942


Latest News


Professor Mohan Edirisinghe OBE, FREng, FEuroAcadSci


holds the established Bonfield Chair of Biomaterials in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at University College London (UCL) and has served as a University of London professor for over 20 years. He was appointed to this UCL chair in December 2005 and prior to this he was Professor of Materials at Queen Mary University of London. He has actively pursued advanced materials processing, forming and manufacturing research, for over 25 years publishing over 600 journal papers with a H-index of 72 and over 18,500 citations (Source: Google Scholar, May 2023). In addition, his research has led to many inventions and patents and he has also delivered over a 100 keynote/invited lectures at many different international conferences and meetings worldwide, particularly in the USA (major recent meetings include: TMS, MS&T and MRS). He has supervised over 250 researchers, graduating over 100 doctoral students (46 to date at UCL), and has been awarded grants to the value of over £25 million, with 43 UK Research Council grants including two Platform Grants which have given him the opportunity to adventurously explore novel avenues of forming and manufacture of advanced materials for application in key areas such as healthcare. His research has won many prizes including the Royal Society Brian Mercer (Innovation) Feasibility Award an unprecedented three times (2005, 2009 and 2013), the 2010 Materials Science Venture Prize and the 2012 Presidents Prize of the UK Biomaterials Society to recognise outstanding contributions to the biomaterials field. In 2015 he was elected as a Fellow of The Royal Academy of Engineering in the UK. In 2017 he was the recipient of The Royal Academy of Engineering Armourers & Brasier's prize for excellence in Materials Engineering and the Premier IOM3 Chapman Medal for his distinguished research in the field of biomedical materials. In 2020, he was elected as a Fellow of The European Academy of Sciences. In the Queens New Year Honours 2021 he was appointed OBE for his services to Biomedical Engineering. 

bottom of page